A Humbling Experience

I pride myself on being able to spot deceptive advertising and misleading sales gimmicks.  So you can imagine my surprise when I realized that I had been had by a clever left wing book peddler.

I was in a Border’s Book store doing some Christmas shopping on Saturday.  I picked up another copy of Mark Levin’s “Liberty and Tyranny” and a copy of Michelle Malkin’s latest book “Culture of Corruption“.  As I was on my way to check-out another book caught my eye.  The title of the book was “Going Rogue”, or so I thought.  Going Rogue happened to be a book I wanted for myself.

Picking it up—it was a paperback—I turned it over and checked the price. Only $15.95. Such a deal, I could not refuse.  On Sunday, while taking a break from my computer, I decided to begin reading the book.  Without reading the Table of Contents, I turned to the Introduction by Richard Kim and Betsy Reed.  Nothing unusual here; authors often have someone else write the Introduction.  The intro started with

“On the evening of November 4, 2008, progressives were in an ebullient mood.  After eight long years of Republican rule, Barack Obama has been elected president.  Accompanying our shouts of joy were audible sighs of relief.  The prospect of a John McCain presidency had filled us with dread.  But to imagine Sarah Palin–a conservative Christian with a penchant for folksy warmongering who flaunted her ignorance as a virtue—separated from the Oval Office only by a 72-year-old cancer survivor…that was beyond terrifying”.

My first reaction was, “How about that, Sarah picked a former left winger to write her Introduction. Good for her”.  I fully expected the tone to change and I would discover that the writer had experienced an epiphany and was now suffering from buyer’s remorse.  After reading about ten pages with no changes, I took a closer look at what I had bought.  The Table of Contents revealed that the book was actually written by an assortment of left wing wannabes including such luminaries as Robert Reich, Rick Pearlstein and Jim Hightower.

Turning back to the cover, I noticed for the first time that the title was “Going Rouge” not “Going Rogue”.  The sub-title was “An American Nightmare” not “An American Life”.  Not having seen a copy of Sarah’s book before, I suppose I could be excused for not noticing the difference—See examples above.  But then again, I guess I just have to admit, as my wife laughingly reminds me, I simply got took.  After a life time of fielding phone calls from solicitors offering to reduce my credit card interest, informing me that I had just won a free trip to some exotic locale, and the thousands of “free trial” offers I have turned down over the years, I still got snookered.  I am sure there is a lesson in there somewhere.  When I figure it out I will be sure to share it with you.

Bookmark and Share

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

3 responses to “A Humbling Experience

  1. The good news from this story is that you wouldn’t even be able to buy Palin’s book because it’s all sold out.

  2. Maybe you should take your rose colored glasses off and shop with your eyes open. The cover of the book you bought says “An American Nightmare” pretty clearly.

    Maybe you just swoon at her pretty face.

    Sarah Palin’s book wasn’t even written by her, it was written by a ghost writer. Her single purpose goal is to simply leverage her celebrity status and make money for her and the publisher and maybe keep her alive as a potential candidate.

    Why is it wrong to criticize Sarah? Why is it wrong to analyze what she does and says?

    If you are going to figure out whether a person is qualified to be your boss or your employee, wouldn’t you read a resume and then start to ask tough questions? How about what types of questions you might ask yourself if someone proposed to marry you?

    Why do people stop thinking critically when posed by the question “do I want this person to be the leader of the free world? Are they qualified to manage the economy and government of the US and its courts, and military?

    This woman isn’t qualified to manage anything that requires careful decision-making, balance and finesse. She shoots from the hip and runs away as soon as the going gets tough.

    Watch what she does. Focus on her actions.

    Look at her performance. Don’t be fooled and snookered by her “I’m just like you ” stage performance.

    Look closely and think about the title of the book “Going Rogue”

    The dictionary definition of the word ‘rogue’ is very telling. From Merriam Webster

    1 : vagrant, tramp

    2 : a dishonest or worthless person : scoundrel

    3 : a mischievous person : scamp

    4 : a horse inclined to shirk or misbehave

    5 : an individual exhibiting a chance and usually inferior biological variation

    In this case it might be a freudian slip and a self fulfilling prophesy all in one.

    If she gets elected, this country will go down the tubes.

    And conservatives who stop paying attention will get definitely what they deserve.

    • SP Watcher

      As people often do, especially liberals, you completely misread my post. It was not about Sarah Palin, it was about a book that was obviously and cleverly crafted by its publisher to take advantage of the unprecedented popularity of Palin’s book, Going Rogue.

      In fact, there is not a single sentence where I express an opinion about Sarah Palin pro or con. Furthermore, I do not particularly object to the book’s content. Society is too liberally populated with fools to be upset when you encounter one or many. My favorites are those who rant about Palin’s lack of experience and qualifications to be leader of the free world and Commander in Chief of America’s military, and then vote for someone like Barack Obama.

Leave a Reply

